You may have wondered hw can I get my record expunged for free, but you’re not alone. South Carolina has strict laws regarding expungement, and you may be wondering how you can apply for one. In this article, we’ll go over the basics and help you decide if it’s a viable option for your circumstances. Whether your record is sealed or public, an expungement attorney can help you make the process go smoothly.
The first step in the process is to get the appropriate court documents. These documents will need to include a photocopy of your current picture ID, a copy of your final dispositions from your arresting agency, and a certified check or money order. It’s important to note that you’ll be paying separate fees for each of these documents, so be sure to make all payments separately.
You can apply for an expungement if you were convicted of a misdemeanor in South Carolina. However, it’s crucial to remember that you must have served at least a sentence. In South Carolina, the minimum sentence for a misdemeanor is 30 days, but you can get a record expunged if you completed the sentence. You should also remember that juveniles can’t be convicted of a violent crime, unless you’ve already completed probation or parole. This is a pretty good chance, but keep in mind that you’ll still have to pay a $310 processing fee.
Expungement is only available in certain circumstances. For example, a case that has been dismissed due to plea negotiations may qualify for an expungement without a fee. However, if you were found not guilty by bench trial or are acquitted, you’ll need to pay a fee. This fee is waived if the case was a victim of identity theft.